Punya Koti story !!

I have not been here for quite some time. I was just quite busy with the office work.

Secondly from the time I have come back from Bangalore, I have been getting Headache almost every day. Sometime it is bearable, but sometimes, it is just not able to manage and took Saridon twice. But later thought that I will get addicted to this medicine and hence decided to go the doctor.

So I came to know the reason for the headache and the excitement of my sister’s marriage had resulted in high BP and hence used to get this headache. I think I became too excited about her marriage. Anyway, now my BP level is normal and my headache is vanished.

From past one week, I am just humming this Punyakoti Song. I don’t know how many of you have heard this song. I am sure most of the people from Karnataka have heard this song. I just love this song. When I was small, my granny (mom’s mom) used to sing this song for me and explain me the meaning of this story. She always preached me that I should never leave the side of truth and I should never tell lie to anyone. How much ever I listened to this song, I never get bored of this.

I have tried to translate this story in brief, but can’t do the justice for the original song.

This story is about a cow named Punyakoti. One day when it was coming back home, it will meet a tiger, who is very hungry and is about to eat Punyakoti. But Punyakoti stops him and tell him that her kid is waiting at home for milk and hence she will just go home, feed the kid and hand over the kid to her relatives and come back. So tiger just laughs and tell her that you are telling lies and I can’t leave my food like that. Then Punyakoti replies that truth is my mom and dad and I never tell lies and god will not forgive me if I tell lies. So finally tiger allows her to go back home, but in mind he thinks that she will never come back.

On coming back home, punyakoti explains her kid about tiger and tell the kid that she has to go back. But the kid starts crying and asks her that where shall it sleeps, where shall it get the milk and who will take care of it and request the mom not to go back. But Punyakoti tell that we should not go back from our words and hence she has to go back to the Tiger. Then she requests her relatives and tells them to take care of her kid and please treat the kid as their own. Finally with teary eyes, Punyakoti bids farewell to everyone and go to the cave where tiger is waiting for her.

It comes to tiger and tells him to eat him and fill his stomach. On seeing Punyakoti, tiger is shocked and was not able to utter words. Finally with teary eyes it tells punyakoti that you are very nice and god will not forgive me if at all I eat you and by saying this, it just jumps off the hill and dies. So the moral of the story is don’t ever leave the side of the truth. Initially, it will be difficult, but the end result will always be good for you.

The original lyric is too good and you will get tears once you hear the song.

This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Punya Koti story !!

  1. Swaram says:

    Gud that u decided to see a doctor. Take care.Punyakoti story is one we have all heard and loved as kids no 🙂 Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Kavya says:

    ya i loved this story.. Any news of your items? Hope the situation is better. take care

  3. rashmi says:

    Good to know ur headache has gone now.I heard this type of story in different form..It ws refreshing to read this 🙂 thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. Rajlakshmi says:

    i have heard this story when i was a kid :)will try to watch the video :Dhere's another award for you :)http://destinychildosheen.blogspot.com/2010/03/avalanche-of-awards-ii.html

  5. Kavya says:

    @ Rajlakshmi:- Oh my god.. so many awards.. thank you so much for this..

  6. Reflections says:

    I've heard the story in my childhood…and saw the video now. Loved it!!!! Thanks for sharing!!!Glad u r feeling better!!!! Do take care!!!

Leave a Reply

