Childhood memories !!!

As I mentioned earlier, my mom was mentally challenged person and hence half of my childhood was spent in the mental hospital 😦 Even though she came out of the hospital, every month we were supposed to give her the injection on time and she took the injection till her death in 2006.

Anyway, this post is not about cribbing about all those things and feeling sad about it. This post is about some childhood memories 😛

Every month I used to accompany her to the doctor shop for injection. That doctor knew us very well and he was very kind and simple person. I just hate injections and every time when my mom was injected, I used to cry 😦 Even today, I am scared of injection. So in order to console me, doctor used to give me a chocolate, you know that lemon taste chocolate, which was like yellow colour in transparent cover. I just loved that 😛 Even today, when I see those chocolate I remember those days.

Then after leaving that place, I used to bribe my mom and every time I used to get different things, like 25 ps chocolates or games to play 😛 In one of that visit, I wanted very badly Hero pen or ink pen (I don’t remember, which pen I wanted that time :P). In school ink pen was compulsory and hence pestered her to get me a pen. So Finally she budged and I bought a pen which costed 5 rs. That time 5 rs. was too much for us. So I happily took that pen and was playing with it on the road, by removing the cap, writing on something and finally I put in some cover and came home.

Once I came home, I wanted to complete my homework and that time, we didn’t had electricity at home. So till 7th standard I studied in lamp light. So I lighted the lamp and checked the cover. To my surprise, I could not find my pen. I was totally scared and I just searched the whole house and I even went all the way till the doctor shop, but I could not get it and finally I had lost it 😦 I was crying like anything and I told my mom about this. My mom told me that I don’t know anything, your dad is gonna be angry. I am not gonna involve in this and she went for sleep. I didn’t knew what to do and I thought if i sleep before he come, he will not ask anything and I will be saved. So I slept immediately 😛 

At around 11PM, my dad came and asked my mom did she bought the pen? My mom though she was mentally challenged, I have never seen her telling lies and even till death I have not heard telling any lies to anyone. So she told him that she lost the pen. My dad was so angry, he waked me up, and just dragged me out of the house and told that you will sleep outside the house and you will enter the house only when you get the pen 😦 God, I was just crying like anything and I was asking sorry and I assured him that next time I will be careful. Pl, I am getting scared here, pl let me come in and so on. So finally my mom convinced my dad and he let me in, only after giving me a warning that I will not do this mistake once again and not lose any valuables like this. That point of time, I was very angry on my dad and mom.

But when I think about that incident now, I can understand 5 rs. had so much value for them. Even 1 rupee had too much value and they were not able to afford to lose a single paise. I think my dad would have just left it without punishing me, I would have not known the value of money. So I knew the value of the money very early in my life. I struggled a lot during my college days and my college friends very kind enough to help me out. I had written about one of my friends here.

Now why I remembered this incident, was that I got some mail which had old childhood memories and some photos in that. In all the photos, there was hero pen also 😛 So I immediately remembered this incident. Will try to post that mail in my next post 🙂

In the meanwhile, I always feel that life earlier was far easy. With such a low salary, people used to lead life happily without any problem. Now though we get 5 figure salary, still we are not able to afford the basic things. Many of us don’t kow the value of money and just spend unnecessarily. I heard a news that some couple is getting married by spending around 3 crores. God, what a waste it is? I know marriage is very important happening in one life, but is it really required to spend so much on the marriage? I don’t understand. I always believe in having a simple marriage, and we had a very simple marriage.

Anyway, it depends on the individual how he wants to live his life. I know life is short and we have to enjoy each and every day of life and not to worry much about money. But spending money on unnecessary things is not called enjoying life, right. This is my view. What do you think of this?

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Childhood memories !!!

  1. Chatterbox says:

    Planning your finances wisely and saving up for the future is something we all know about but many times fail to practice in real lives 😦
    Your narration of your childhood days made my eyes go moist 😥
    I am glad you finally saw the good in the pain and learnt a very valuable lesson for good 😛
    {{{{hugs}}}}

    • Kavya says:

      Rightly said CB 🙂 We always fail in practicing it.

      This was my first and last punishment by my dad 😛 So it always hold a special position in my heart and I cannot forget this incident.

  2. Bikram says:

    I know for sure, my childhood has been in a village and city, before i was sent to a hostel for schooling I remember the day in vilalge as you said No electricity .. use ot have Diya’s and lamps.. and then to keep warm during the winter nights have a large fire..

    And money was always a issue, and 5rs meant a lot of money in those days .. it was crazy.. I was always getting punished for some reason or the other i was very naughty 🙂 my dad once threw me also out of the house for some reason i cant remember and my mum brought me in 🙂

    Yes very true we learnt a lesson to live in what we have, because of farming and all sometimes the crops died or that happened , this happened sad story of our farmers was visible in my own house..

    But now as you said we got so much money, land prices have soared so much things have become easy yet it has brought a lot of bad things along with it also … Its always wise to know what you are spending ..
    Wise are those people who learn from mistakes and Wiser are the people who learn from OTHERS mistakes ..

    your note brought a lot of memories to me too my vilalge and all .. God bless and take care

  3. I am speechless and welled up 🙂
    Hugs 🙂

  4. Hey you said it correctly, earlier people use to enjoy their life in minimum salary because their needs and expectations were limited and organised as well. Now-a-days we earn more but we fail to enjoy the simple things in life….Your parents are really great who have inculcated these good values in you !

  5. Haritha says:

    Heart touchin post Kavya!! Take Care 🙂 Hugs 2 yu..

  6. Seena says:

    I am one of your latest followers, I love the honesty in your posts..Nicely written and touchy..

  7. Hey…
    I totally respect the value of money but still when i go drinking or shopping, i spend it all in vain.
    This is because When i was a kid, I too lived in a money challeged family..
    I used to think that money is the only reason for happiness.. coz there used to be never ending fights at home.
    Every morning i woke up hearing the fights between mom & dad..

    Now when we have enough money that we are not actually dependent on money for happiness..
    The fights still happen at home with almost same frequency..
    Its just that i don’t give a fuck now.. I spend money my way!!!!

    I just got carried away thinking about my past.. So leave it now..

    I am glad that you came out well from all your childhood complications.

    Take Care!

Leave a comment